Book Review: Bombed by Winifred Morris


Bombed by Winifred Morris

A Drama/Thriller Novel published by Eastside Gal Publishing (04/17/15)



“She’d just slowly come to accept the loneliness secrets bring and thought she was tough enough to handle it. (Kindle locations 4061-4065).

When you think you’re tough enough or strong enough, you’re just setting yourself up for a fall. Annie bit off a bit more than she could chew in Bombed. She may tell herself she can do it, but unconsciously she knows it is too much for her. Circumstances create challenges to make everything even more difficult for her and she is forced to rely on Wes, even though she swore off men to protect herself. She knows that things don’t add up in her life, but if there aren’t any more people in her life than her uncle and band members, she thinks she can fool everyone. Even Buzzard and Fleep begin to question where the money comes from. Even under such duress and with so many questioning her source of money, Annie is bold and quick-witted. She doesn’t fall apart or go crazy when her uncle is kidnapped. She remains level-headed and sticks to her guns. She is a fun character.



 Music, Intrigue, Money, Drugs, Smuggling, Drug Dealers, Small Town, Tough Gal, Romance, Drama, Attacks, FBI, Investigation


My Review:

All the characters in Bombed are well written and vibrant and will suck you into their stories. I loved the interesting character names and how consistent the characters were to their upbringing and environmental influences. Each of the characters’ stories was fascinating and the author layered the stories within and throughout the other stories, making the novel complex and rich.

The main story itself was farfetched and amazingly executed, like any good action thriller where the audience must suspend disbelief at times. The story is comical and zany and such a fun read.

To note: This novel contained many specific musical references, which added to the consistency of the characters and their backgrounds and added an element of sophistication to the details of the novel, but most of the references will go over a reader’s head, unless they are a big music fan.

Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

This novel was published by Eastside Gal Publishing on April 17th, 2015 and is available on Amazon here.


TL;DR Star Rating: 4.75


Links for more information:

Winifred Morris’s website